Sailor Moon Crystal Blu-Ray Limited Deluxe Edition Volume 12 & 13 Review セーラームーン


1smc131Here are the last two limited edition blu-ray volumes of the new Sailor Moon Crystal anime. I really like the cover designs for these two volumes and the colors are really great. I’ve been getting these volumes monthly since they first came out from Amazon Japan. Now that its over, I’ll miss getting a monthly package T_T

By this time, it is confirmed that the third manga arc will be animated. Its great that more Sailor Moon is on the way. I really hope that the 4th arc is included as well. I could do without the 2 episodes a month schedule, but I rather watch the rough draft online sooner than wait even longer for the blu-ray versions.

2smc134Volume 13 is a music box like volume 1 but plays the ED theme instead of OP. The music box on Vol 13 is much more sensitive to light and starts playing right away. Vol 1 would not play unless light was directly on the sensor. 3smc139The cover for 13 is probably my favorite of the set. It’s a really nice group shot. 3smc138Volume 12 is just black lady.4smc136The Blu-ray for 13 has a bunch of little crystals around the silver crystal. I think all the discs should have had a crystal theme but at least the first and last one did. The disc for volume 12 is nicely done too. 10smc138Volume 12’s booklet has dark Luna-P10smc137Volume 13 has all three cats like for Volume 11’s cover, only this time they are all facing front. Also included in 13 was the henshin sketch book. 11smc1312I really like this book and wished more sketch booklets were included in the volumes. Unfortunately Chibimoon is not included in the booklet, just the 5.9smc1311Finally here are the charms. Volume 12 included the crystal star brooch. This one was nicely done, but only the center stone is a jewel. The rest are just painted. Compared to the first brooch that had four jewels. Even without the little jewels, I still like this charm.  But I think my least favorite of the set has to be the time key for volume 13. Many variations of the time key was previously released as charms over the years and they all seem much nicer than this one. The one thing that bothers me about it is that the small space on the top of the key is filled in instead of being an open area. It changes the whole look of the key for me. I would have preferred a smaller key but more detailed.

Out of all the charms, I only did not like this time key and the Cutie Moon rod. The other 11 were all really nice, even Venus’ Sailor V pen. 13smc13Lastly here is what the completed mail-in coupon looks like. In order to get the collector box to hold all the Blu-rays and charms, you need to fill this out and send it in by the deadline. If you ordered from CD Japan, JBox, and perhaps some other places, you mail this directly to them and they take care of the rest.

Since I decided to order from Amazon Japan instead, I needed to go the proxy route. I chose Shopping Mall Japan for this and actually emailed them about a year ago asking if they accept orders such as this.The reply I got was basically yeah they do them unless there is special circumstances. In this case, since the other stores were doing them for everyone, I knew there was not a limit one per address or some other condition.

The price for this is pretty good, especially considering there is not a lot of other options. The special order price is $10. I’m not clear on the rest of the fees, like if there is still a commission charge of $6, etc, since I never had to do a special order before.

Even though it was a lot cheaper for me to order from Amazon Japan vs CD Japan ( I would have used FedEX shipping…), CD Japan gave some really nice bonus posters, and there is discounts via their point system. I may end up ordering the next anime’s Blu-rays from them instead depending on what the bonus is. Unfortunately I have no space to hang huge posters so I didn’t think it made sense to get them. 12smc1315So now the issue was since the card from volume 1 was complete, was it necessary to mail in the rest of the coupon for 2-13 as well? I asked SMJ this question but they did not understand what I was asking, just to mail in the physical coupon… So I took a shot and just mailed in the completed coupon of volume 1. It may seem silly, but I wanted to hold on to the rest of these coupons. They are nicely color coded haha.

Yesterday my special order was confirmed, so I’m assuming that everything went fine with it and that I will receive the box when it’s released. Even though we got the picture of it, I still can’t imagine what this box will look like in person. If it will be really sturdy, etc.

Actually there is still a little bit of time to mail in the coupon to SMJ (of course contact them beforehand) before the early November deadline, but you have to use Express mail and mail out the completed coupon card ASAP. As a timeline, I mailed mine out 10/13 and they received it 10/19. My order was confirmed on my account page 10/22.cobaniiThat’s all about the Blu-rays, so I’ll end this post with some modeling stuff. I recently got some of these Cobaanii put together tool things from HLJ. cobanii1I think they are really nice and make my work space more organized. I used glue while assembling them as they kept on failing apart otherwise. model kit boxes1I don’t know if I’ll regret this later on, but I decided to basically take all my models out of their boxes, place all the parts in plastic bags and them store them all in these plastic units. All the kits are definitely more accessible now, but its not really much better organized. For right now away. model kit boxesFor all the boxes, I tried really hard to consolidate them as much as possible. Usually I take pictures when I first got a kit, but I’m sure I missed a few. So its not going to be fun to hunt for these missing boxes to take some pictures when the time comes…curentwipAnd there are some of my current WIP projects. To the left is a scratch build sculpture of Crystal Sailor Chibimoon. I’m trying really hard this time to stay within the 1/8 scale size range.

In the middle is an SD kit of Sailor Mars that came with a choice of either the miko or sailor outfit. Here I am just sculpting a 2nd head so that I can use both bodies.

Lastly on the right is a kit mod of Fate/Zero Irisviel, using a kit of Utsugi Mikoto that I won in the same auction as Amie Grand Sailor Saturn.  I’ve never seen that series and had no plans to build the kit, so using it as a base for Irisviel seemed great since the boots are very similar at least.

Leave a comment